Alive or just breathing?

How would you feel if you were an empty envelope- waiting, wanting- to fulfill your purpose? Your destiny?



My papa had told me, “Son, make us proud.” And I had vowed I would.

I lost my mama to pretty letters and lingering kisses and my papa thereafter to the heavy responsibility of scribbled numbers. I longed for the caresses, the font to mark my chest and the kiss to seal me closed. I yearned to fulfil my destiny and be sent to places unknown.

They seem like a dream now. Like delicate threads of hope slipping through my fingers. I lie in a musty corner of a nameless cupboard. Alone. Forgotten. Every second that passes chips away at the gaping hole in my heart, threatening to swallow me whole. 

I ache for the sun to light up the dust motes on my face. For loving touches to wipe away the dust streaks on my cheeks. For words and scribbles to fill the void and fate to run its course so that I may part ways with the darkness that envelops* me and reach the destination that awaits.

I lie. I wait.

Alone. Forgotten.

For eternity.


*Pun intended

 

Is a part of you still laden with dust? Are you a singer waiting to be heard, an artist wanting to be seen, a writer bandaging the ink that bleeds out of your every pore or just a nerd waiting to be unleashed?

You see, life might be short but it’s the longest thing you’ll ever experience. Make it worth your while. Make it worth more than just a smile or mere existence. Make your life live up to the amazing person that you are. 

Your life awaits. 

Are you alive or just breathing?

6 thoughts on “Alive or just breathing?

  1. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to
    my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

